Western Piedmont Symphony: Maestro Debut

Matthew TroyIt’s an exciting event when an orchestra introduces a new Music Director and conductor, and the Hickory, NC-based Western Piedmont Symphony did just that with a concert titled Maestro Debut. Matthew Troy is the group’s leader, and in the concert he led the orchestra in Sibelius’ Finlandia, Edvard Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A-minor and Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. It was a most impressive way for Maestro Troy to begin, and you can enjoy it on Carolina Live.



Listen in pop-up player Listen to selections in a pop-up player

Matthew Troy, conductor

Sibelius: Finlandia

Grieg: Piano Concerto in A-minor
Gregory Knight, piano

Aram Khachaturian: Toccata
Gregory Knight, piano

Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition

Sibelius: String Quartet in d-minor – Voces intimae
Tesla Quartet
Ross Snyder, violin
Michelle Lie, violin
Edwin Kaplan, viola
Serafim Smigelskiy. Cello

back to top